Underage DWI Penalties
Underage DWI penalties New Jersey
If someone under the age of 21 is found guilty of underage drinking, there are fines of $500 and a six month driver’s license suspension, regardless if they were driving or not. If you are over the age of 21 (the legal age to purchase alcohol in New Jersey) and you are arrested on suspicion of DWI, your breath will be tested just as in traditional DWI cases. However, if you are under 21 years old, the state only needs to prove your BAC was above .01% BAC in order to convict you of “underage DWI.” If your BAC reading is over .08%, you will likely be charged with DWI and under 21 DWI.
As with the DWI statute, the penalties for under 21 DWI are severe:
Legal BAC limit of .01% BAC – .08% BAC
Intoxicated Driver Resource Center of 12 to 48 hours
Loss of driver’s license from 30 to 90 days
Community service from 15 to 30 days
We’ll review your case at no cost. Call us 24/7.
If you or your underage child has been arrested for driving under the influence, do not wait to contact our firm today. We provide free consultations to new clients.
Regardless of the Circumstances
As a 2015 Clients’ Choice award recipient with a *10.0 Superb Avvo Rating, Attorney Baxter has demonstrated his ability to secure favorable outcomes on behalf of our clients, no matter how complex the situation may be. Although you may be worried about what the future holds, you do not have to work through this time on your own. We stand ready to relentlessly defend you from your initial consultation until the resolution of your case.
How We Set The Bar For DWI Defense
Reasonable Rates & Payment Plan Options
More Than 3,200 DWI Cases Handled
Experience from Both Sides of the Courtroom
Available 24/7 to Assist Our Clients
Trained in the Use of Alcotest Breath Testing Instruments