Costs of a DWI Conviction

Assistance from a DUI Lawyer in New Jersey

You should be aware that there are certain costs associated with being convicted of DWI or refusal of a chemical DWI test. In addition to the fines, court costs, and other penalties levied by the judge, you will also need to pay the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission a surcharge of at least $1,000 for 3 years for any DWI conviction. This applies even if you are an out-of-state driver. The following is an estimate of the costs associated with a DWI conviction.

Cost of a DWI Lawyer in NJ

On average a New Jersey DWI lawyer costs around $1,000 – $2,000 for a case.

The Cost of A DWI Charge in New Jersey

Minimum added costs for a first-time DWI conviction are approximately $6,000-$7,000. Once you have had a chance to review the table provided below, you will see that it makes sense to have an attorney represent you. The costs are just too high to go to court alone. If you do represent yourself in a DWI case in New Jersey without a lawyer, you will likely be at a much higher risk of being convicted.

Our New Jersey DUI attorney, Christopher L. Baxter, has 30 years of experience in DWI courtrooms. He has served as both a DWI / DUI defense lawyer and a municipal prosecutor who has handled these types of cases. Mr. Baxter can help you access the possible costs of a conviction in your specific case and draw up an effective defense plan.

Costs of a DWI Conviction

Type of Cost Cost
Fines by the court Minimum of $250
Court costs $33
Safe Neighborhood Service Fund $75
Victim of Crime Compensation Fund $50
Law Enforcement Fund $30
Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) class $100
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 3-year surcharge $3,000
DWI surcharge $200
Fee for license reinstatement $200
Estimated increases in your auto insurance premiums Your annual premium could double for at least 3 years
Minimum added costs for a first-time DWI conviction (estimate)

The Law Offices of Christopher L. Baxter can help!

Want to learn more about how you can challenge your DWI charges in Burlington County or anywhere else in the state of New Jersey? Call the Law Offices of Christopher L. Baxter and schedule your free initial case evaluation. You can reach our office at 856-235-9881.

Aggressive Defense
Regardless of the Circumstances

As a 2015 Clients’ Choice award recipient with a *10.0 Superb Avvo Rating, Attorney Baxter has demonstrated his ability to secure favorable outcomes on behalf of our clients, no matter how complex the situation may be. Although you may be worried about what the future holds, you do not have to work through this time on your own. We stand ready to relentlessly defend you from your initial consultation until the resolution of your case.

DWI Defense Qualities

How We Set The Bar For DWI Defense


Reasonable Rates & Payment Plan Options


More Than 3,200 DWI Cases Handled


Experience from Both Sides of the Courtroom


Available 24/7 to Assist Our Clients


Trained in the Use of Alcotest Breath Testing Instruments

Time is of the Essence
Act Fast to Protect Your License